Home Coalitions Clean and Fair Elections Bersih rep’s deportation indicates Taib’s fear of high voter turnout

Bersih rep’s deportation indicates Taib’s fear of high voter turnout

Join us on Telegram and Instagram for the latest.

The Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections 2.0 (Bersih 2.0) condemns in the strongest terms the deportation of Maria Chin Abdullah, the fourth Bersih leader (to suffer the fate), by the Taib Mahmud State Government of Sarawak.

Maria Chin went to Kuching to prepare for the launching of the JOM100 campaign, a campaign aiming at achieving 100 per cent turnout to defeat electoral frauds. Chief Minister Taib Mahmud’s act clearly shows that he is terrified by high turnout of Sarawakians in the coming General Elections.

In May 2011, Bersih 2.0 chairperson Ambiga Sreenevasan and steering committee member Wong Chin Huat too were deported by the Sarawak State Government. They were then advocating for Sarawakians’ right to vote in state elections via absentee voting facilities and campaigning against election corruption.

Chief Minister Taib Mahmud has abused the immigration control power rested in the hand of the state governments, which is meant to prevent economic transmigration but not political and social integration between East and West Malaysians.

Section 67 of the Immigration Act clearly protects the right of “a citizen entering the East Malaysian State for the sole purpose of engaging in legitimate political activity”.

What Maria Chin Abdullah and other Bersih 2.0 leaders have been doing are promoting universal suffrage and clean elections in Sarawak. Sarawakians and other Malaysians must stand up and demand that Taib Mahmud to reverse the denial of entry order.

Steering Committee Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (Bersih 2.0)

The Steering Committee of Bersih 2.0 comprises:
Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan (Co-Chairperson), Datuk A. Samad Said (Co-Chairperson), Ahmad Shukri Abdul Razab, Andrew Khoo, Arul Prakkash, Arumugam K., Dr Farouk Musa, Liau Kok Fah, Maria Chin Abdullah, Richard Y W Yeoh, Dr Subramaniam Pillay, Dato’ Dr Toh Kin Woon, Dr Wong Chin Huat, Dato’ Yeo Yang Poh and Zaid Kamaruddin.

Thanks for dropping by! The views expressed in Aliran's media statements and the NGO statements we have endorsed reflect Aliran's official stand. Views and opinions expressed in other pieces published here do not necessarily reflect Aliran's official position.

Our voluntary writers work hard to keep these articles free for all to read. But we do need funds to support our struggle for Justice, Freedom and Solidarity. To maintain our editorial independence, we do not carry any advertisements; nor do we accept funding from dubious sources. If everyone reading this was to make a donation, our fundraising target for the year would be achieved within a week. So please consider making a donation to Persatuan Aliran Kesedaran Negara, CIMB Bank account number 8004240948.
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x