Home Media statements Aliran AGM discusses role in new Malaysia

Aliran AGM discusses role in new Malaysia

Follow us on our Malay and English WhatsApp, Telegram, Instagram, Tiktok and Youtube channels.

Aliran this morning held its 42nd annual general meeting – its first such meeting in the new Malaysia.

Members discussed the role of Aliran in a changed political landscape under a new government.

The group discussed how best it could engage constructively with the Pakatan Harapan government in pursuing the reform agenda while being vigilant and providing checks and balances on the powers that be.

In her address, Dr Prema Devaraj, who was re-elected as president for a third term, welcomed the PH government’s efforts in building a new Malaysia, including its willingness to engage in dialogue and work with civil society on a number of issues.

She, however, pointed out that in creating a change, there needs to be a clarity of direction which should stem from an ideology that demands that the dignity and rights of all people remain at the forefront of all endeavours.

“For Aliran, this ideology has to include principles of human rights, good governance, inclusivity and sustainable development – basically putting people before profits. On a number of a occasions, the PH government has had to be reminded of some of these principles.”

Prema urged Aliran members to get involved in building the new Malaysia – a process which would take time, patience and constructive effort. “We must be in touch with the lived realities of people on the ground and ensure that our efforts are not merely theoretical or come from a position of privilege but address the core issues faced by the people.”

Also elected to the Aliran executive committee were Henry Loh as honorary secretary, Dr Azmil Tayeb as honorary assistant secretary and Anil Netto as honorary treasurer.

READ MORE:  Where are the reforms we were promised?

Members also elected the following to the executive committee: Dr Francis Loh, Dr Mustafa K Anuar, Andrew Wong, Prof Zaharom Nain, Dr Christopher Chong Eu Choong, Dr Lye Tuck-Po, Dr Faisal Hazis, K Haridas, Ng Tien Eng, Dr Ngu Ik Tien and Wan Atikah Wan Yusoff.

David Yeoh was elected the honorary auditor.

Henry Loh
Aliran honorary secretary
25 November 2018

The views expressed in Aliran's media statements and the NGO statements we have endorsed reflect Aliran's official stand. Views and opinions expressed in other pieces published here do not necessarily reflect Aliran's official position.

AGENDA RAKYAT - Lima perkara utama
  1. Tegakkan maruah serta kualiti kehidupan rakyat
  2. Galakkan pembangunan saksama, lestari serta tangani krisis alam sekitar
  3. Raikan kerencaman dan keterangkuman
  4. Selamatkan demokrasi dan angkatkan keluhuran undang-undang
  5. Lawan rasuah dan kronisme
Support our work by making a donation. Tap to download the QR code below and scan this QR code from Gallery by using TnG e-wallet or most banking apps:
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Aw Kum Wah
27 Nov 2018 1.31pm

We need more voices of the people as the ‘previous opposition ‘ is now in power , leaving behind a huge vacuum.

Jenny Sak
26 Nov 2018 2.17pm

Congratulations, Aliran!

Khoo Soo Hay
Khoo Soo Hay
26 Nov 2018 9.41am

Congratulations to all new Office-bearers of Aliran.
Maintaiin forcus of Aliran’s basic objectives. Serve as check and balance on the decisions and actions of the powers that be. Above all be the eyes and ears of civil society, expose all forms of corruptions, and remind our politicians and leaders that they are appointed or elected to look after the people, irrespective of race and religion.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x