Home Media statements As reformist-led government takes shape, Aliran holds annual meeting with renewed hope

As reformist-led government takes shape, Aliran holds annual meeting with renewed hope

Members discussed several reforms that could deepen democracy and strengthen checks and balances

Follow us on our Malay and English WhatsApp, Telegram, Instagram, Tiktok and Youtube channels.

Members attending Aliran’s 45th annual general meeting, held in a hybrid manner this morning, welcomed the outcome of the general election and the formation of a reformist-led government.

The mood was distinctly upbeat as members discussed several reforms that could be carried out to deepen our democracy and strengthen checks and balances.

However, members were aware that the road ahead for the new Prime Minister, Anwar Ibrahim, and his team could be bumpy, as they would need to balance competing interests and agendas in a broadened coalition.

Aliran members also hoped that the new government would be given the chance to complete a full five-year term so that it could introduce reforms that were promised in their manifestos.

“As the election outcome reveals a deep rift in voting patterns, it is crucial that NGOs like Aliran work to build bridges and promote better understanding among the people,” Aliran president Anil Netto said.

“That said, we move on with hope for a more inclusive Malaysia based on justice, freedom and solidarity. Aliran itself has a role to play in promoting a more inclusive, democratic and sustainable nation through our articles and programmes.”

Members re-elected Anil as president, Dr Azmil Tayeb as honorary secretary and Henry Loh as honorary treasurer. Mary Magdaline Pereira takes over as honorary assistant secretary from Dr Prema Devaraj, who was elected to the executive committee this time.

Re-elected to the executive committee were Dr Mustafa K Anuar, Andrew Wong, Prof Zaharom Nain, K Haridas, Dr Khoo Ying Hooi, Dr Christopher Chong, Sukeshini Nair and Zikri Rahman.

Newly elected to the committee were Dr Por Heong Hong and Dr Nagiah Ramasamy.

READ MORE:  Kanason Pothinker's frantic final call

David Yeoh was re-elected as honorary auditor.

Dr Azmil Tayeb
Honorary secretary
26 November 2022

The views expressed in Aliran's media statements and the NGO statements we have endorsed reflect Aliran's official stand. Views and opinions expressed in other pieces published here do not necessarily reflect Aliran's official position.

AGENDA RAKYAT - Lima perkara utama
  1. Tegakkan maruah serta kualiti kehidupan rakyat
  2. Galakkan pembangunan saksama, lestari serta tangani krisis alam sekitar
  3. Raikan kerencaman dan keterangkuman
  4. Selamatkan demokrasi dan angkatkan keluhuran undang-undang
  5. Lawan rasuah dan kronisme
Support our work by making a donation. Tap to download the QR code below and scan this QR code from Gallery by using TnG e-wallet or most banking apps:
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gursharan Singh
Gursharan Singh
26 Nov 2022 8.30pm

Congratulations to the incoming leaders
Bless all

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x